Past Chapter Presidents

Past chapter presidents of the Columbia (MD) Alumnae Chapter have demonstrated a record of leadership and results in Howard County, Maryland area. The chapter has had 15 past presidents who were all effective and accomplished leaders.

Soror Celonia Walden was a charter member and the first president of the Columbia (MD) Alumnae Chapter. In her honor, the chapter offers the Celonia B. Walden Award for the Performing Arts as a scholarship for high school seniors. There is a classroom dedicated to her memory at Howard Community College. The chapter also honors another president, Gilda Lewis, by offering the Gilda Lewis Public Service Award. Soror Lewis was an educator who dedicated her life to public service. Soror Walden and Soror Robin Steele are among the Howard County Women’s Hall of Fame inductees. Soror Melinda Pope was named “Citizen of the Year” for 2014.


Celonia Walden*+ (1971 – 1972)
Ruth Felton*+ (1972 – 1974)
Margo Barton* (1974 – 1975)
Ruth Felton*+ (1975 – 1976)
Alice Clark (1976 – 1978)
Alice Haskins+ (1978 – 1982)
Gilda Lewis* (1982 – 1986)
Marion Payne (1986 – 1990)
Muriel Mitchell (1990 – 1994)
Jane Waters (1994 – 1998)
Yvonne Howell (1998 – 2002)
Robin Steele (2002 – 2006)
June Alexander (2006 – 2010)
Melinda Pope (2010 – 2014)
Vivian M. Lawyer (2014 – 2018)
Wanda L. Nelson (2018-2022)
Dr. A. Diane Martin (2022-2024)

+ Charter Member
* Deceased

Columbia MD Alumnae Chapter Delta Sigma Theta - A message from our president Wanda Nelson Chapter history
Columbia (MD) Alumnae Chapter Delta Sigma Theta Sorority - chapter history